Skip to main content

Hello forumites. My daughter is completing an overseas internship for her MA in which she studied in South Africa, China and travelled through Eastern Europe. As part of a congratulatory gesture, and because she loves wine, I am preparing a case of wine from each location she has visited. 8 bottles have already been purchased however unfortunately I have no knowledge of wine from these two areas, other than searching online and reviewing scores. Would anyone recommend from personal experience, wines from these two countries? Varietal is of little importance. She loves red, white and sparkling, but does not like dessert or late harvest wines. Thank you for any information!

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

There are so many good whites (Chenin Blanc, primarily) and reds (esp. syrah) from South Africa that it is hard to know where to start.  I suggest doing some research on reviews, ratings, etc., then come back here with some ideas to discuss and get feedback.  I'm sure others will chime in with their favorite producers.  Many of better ones I have had there are not available in the US and are very inexpensive by our standards.

As for China, I have had a few (Great Wall, Chengdu, and one from Henan Province whose name escapes me at the moment).  None have been memorable; however, which some French, US, and Australian consultants in China, things are looking up.  But for now, I would buy only as a novelty, not to drink. 

I agree with Haggis' suggestion on Chenin Blancs from South Africa.

If you can find them, Sadie Family makes three excellent versions; Skurfberg, Skerpioen and Palladius. The first two are part of their Old Vine series and might be difficult to find. The Palladius is actually a blend but should be easier to find, albeit not cheap. 

A.A. Badenhorst. He makes a 100% chenin blanc called The Golden Slopes. Outstanding stuff.

Ken Forrester, The FMC. His top of the line chenin blanc. Great stuff.