So, I'm still learning the ins and outs of this whole wine thing but I think it's safe to say that I don't like fruity wines. I've never been a fan of white wine because it's always been too sweet and fruity for me and I don't like fruity red wines either. I had a 2008 Fore Family Pinot tonight that I really didn't like because it was so sweet and fruity. That seemed to have jogged my memory that other wines I haven't liked were also sweet and fruity.

What kind of tasting notes should I focus on if I definitely don't like sweet and fruity wine? Am I right in thinking that I'll enjoy older wines vs newer wines? The fruitiness tends to go away as wine gets older right?
Original Post
Don't write off any styles, red vs. whites, or any varietals until you've tasted more.
I would say...and this is a really broad stroke...you should try some more old world wines before you start jumping into aged wines, which can be a lot trickier and a bit more expensive. Just a thought....
Careful not to confuse sweet and fruity. They often coincide, but not always. Remember that you can't smell sweet. That illusion can carry through to the palate with some fully dry wines. So, like you said, with wines you find obnoxiously fruity that fruit will mellow with age. But, if the wine is also sweet, that sweetness won't go away. Also, if there's any raisinated character in with that fruitiness, it won't fade with age, so it'll become ever more relatively prominent.

A high degree of ripeness can make a wine seem overly fruity. But also, very clean winemaking practices can eliminate various things that can dull the fruit. Other interactions can produce more fruity character.

Generally, I'd say look for less ripe wines to try. Find critics/writers who like what you like, and avoid what James Laube and Robert Parker like.