Welcome, Fragile Thunder. I am too new here although the circumstances of my arrival are somewhat different from yours. I was trying to look up a certain someone, but got sidetracked by getting involved into pointless discussions about dangers of meat and alcohol with few insignificant drunkards.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .