Skip to main content

I know, not my favorite genre either, but every year, I seem to have to edit something.  What are your favs, happy to add any, particularly vintage/bebop jazz, or off the wall.  Off my mostly oldies list:

Elvis, blue xmas - the best

Brian Setzer, quite a few of his, but nutcracker suite in particular

Herb Alpert, Jingle bells

Ella, frosty

Chuck berry ,run run rudolph

Et al...

I've got the pogues xmas song, but its kinda depressing.

Original Post

Apparently only us kooks in SD listen to xmas music! I love some newer songs, but love the classics sung by choirs, like the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. My faves:

Last Christmas— Wham (and Jimmy Eat World as well)

Santa Claus is coming to town—Springsteen 

Christmas (baby come home)—U2

Christmas Waltz—She and Him

O holy night—Perry Como

flwino posted:
csm posted:

Literally none.  I worked in retail in the mall in undergrad. I legitimately hate every single Christmas song as a result. 

Agree.  Tired of listening to it from before Thanksgiving.  Good for only a week at the max

Sounds like the result of hating your job and associating the music with that.  When I was working in a movie theater the general manager had Linda Ronstadt's CDs with the Nelson Riddle Orchestra playing nonstop. I still love those albums despite not listening to any other big band music that I can think of.

Of course, it was Linda Ronstadt. So who wouldn't love it?

winetarelli posted:

“River” - Joni Mitchell

”Glad Tidings” - Van Morrison 

“Christmas” - The Who

I’ll give Patti Smith’s version of “O Holy Night” a listen, of course. Perhaps as well, Pavarotti and Domingo’s. And I’m sure to listen to several versions of “The Hanukkah Song” by Adam Sandler. 

I second The River.  Still gives me chills.

Adding I Believe in Father Christmas by ELP and John Lennon's So This is Christmas.

sd-wineaux posted: