Skip to main content

I have been drinking wine for well over 20 years and sure I like a sweet wine from time to time...that's what Ausleses are for right?

Well I picked up my first Sauterne, a 01 Doisy Vedrines. What an experience, I will have to get more and try this as it ages (I also picked up some Coutet). I never had a wine that was so sweet yet balanced on a razor's edge with such delineated acidity. Not cloying in anyway, a decadent yet refreshing nectar. Multiple layers of flavor and a great bouquet, plus the mouth sensation of almost oily then stripped clean with acid. Maybe it's the vintage, but I guess I am now a fan.

Now , more wine I need to buy.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I have some of the '01 Petite Vedrines on hold for me next time I go home to upstate NY. I believe that this is the 2nd wine of Doisy Vedrines. It is supposed to be really good stuff for a 2nd label. Anyone try this one?

IW

Life without wine?...... Yeah Right.<br /><br />I believe we have 2 lives; the life we learn with and the life we live with after that.
Blue Oval brought a bottle of the '01 Doisy-Vedrines to our recent off-line at Mykha's. My brief notes:

Smooth and clean honey, tangerine peel, and caramel flavors. Quite sturdy, lean and powerful. Not as creamy as many Sauternes I have tried. Should age well for years. 92P.

Thanks for sharing this one, Blue Oval!

Cheers,

Otis
Last edited {1}
I posted my impression on this wine and stick to it in spite of the fact that RP only gave it 89 pts. Another reason I look to TNs vice points (but I think JS scored it higher). I am also a newbie when it comes to the stickies so my palate may not be as well trained as it is in Bordeaux and white Burgs. I do put my money where my mouth er palate is. I found some 750's of this and bought them. Got 20% off so not too bad but not as good a futures pricing.