Skip to main content

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to this site and wine collecting. I recently bought a few lots at the fine wine auction in Toronto. I love the 1995 Banfi Brunnello Poggio All'Oro, I purchased one lot that included 5 bottles of 1995 and 1 bottle of 1994. My question is; I cannot find any information on any site including Banfi that mention a 1994 Poggio All'Oro Brunello from Banfi, does this mean that I may have purchased a lot in the Auction that was not properly described ? does anyone know of a 1994 Poggio All'Oro ?

Any help would be greatly appreciated !

Cheers
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

It's either a typo or a mistake. I'd call them and dicuss the matter. If you're not comfortable with the results of the conversation, it appears that you have a legitimate reason to back out of the purchase.

I have no personal experience with Ritchie's but do know that they occasionally partner with Sotheby's which is an indication that they're on the up and up.

PH
Thanks for your help folks....my main objective was getting my hands on the '95, but I will be unimpressed if they have misprinted....Can one re-negotiate the price of the lot if there was a mistake made ? I still want to get my hands on the '95 Poggio All'Oro..it is almost impossible to find...In Canada anyway...

Thanks again.
Typically the rules of engagement are available prior to the auction.

It's unlikely that they'll negotiate, but you can always try. I guess the questions is, why would you want a bottle from an inferior vintage in the first place? I wouldn't use a typo or mistake as a reason to get too worried.

As long as there is another bottle of all Oro in the lot you should be content, unless you're concerned about provenence. As I said, the misrepresentation, regardless of reason, is most likely a reason to bail out if you're worried.

What did you pay for the lot, may I ask?

PH