There are good days, then some not as good. Don't know how much he is on his computer anymore. Your best option will most likely be phone. Do you still have his number? Let me know if not and I will give it to you along with Pam's.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .