It appears jburman's politically incendiary comment was deleted, but got a second life in a reply by Fl Wino. If that comment was indeed the thread's death knell, I guess one could say Robert put Jack in the box.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .