This is tragic, indeed. I never met him, but like many others here had the utmost respect for him. He and I corresponded off-line from time to time and interacted on the WB boards. I will definitely miss him. RIP.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .