When I was in high school, I used to help my grandmother (who was in her early 70s then) a case of Bud every month -- about $18. She lived till she was 86 although she dropped drinking around 80 years of age.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .