i've had a few since release and each time i have they've got increasingly closed. Not to deter you to try, but at least give it a good decant. I'm getting more, but not going to touch them for a few years before trying again.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .