I've never understood why anyone would hesitate about doing something because the staff might make comments about you in the back. As long as the restaurant allows then enjoy yourself. When in doubt about the policy, pick up a phone.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .