I wasn't pointing this out as a negative. It just seemed like the only two times that I've seen it came from people in Chicago and Kalamazoo so I thought it was a local thing. By your use of the term, I finally understood what it mean.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .