WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Wine Conversations    Tannin with respect to aging
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tannin with respect to aging
 Login/Join 
posted
Hi all,

my name is Alfred and I'm a new member, but have been reading the forums for the past couple of weeks while waiting for my account to be verified. I am recently new to wine(I have been learning and tasting for about 6 months now), and I have built myself a cellar with the intentions to store wine for aging.

My question regarding tannin in wine and aging was brought about after a recent and brief trip to a few wineries in the Napa region. I went to a tasting and sampled a flight of reds, in which almost every wine was so tannic that it seemed to me like it was a major flaw. The wines were relatively young, and I was just wondering to what extent a wine's tannins will become softer with aging. I did not purchase any wines there, as I was unimpressed, but I would like a general reference point to refer to when I taste wines in the future, and how they should be tasting after some aging.

I am fairly novice when it comes to tasting older wines, as I have only had a few wines that were cellar aged ( a Barolo and a couple of Super tuscans). So I suppose what I'd really like to know is if when purchasing wine for aging (5+years), should I be looking for something with moderate tannins, or something almost over the top, and hoping it mellows out before reaching its peak.

Thanks in advance for any answers/advice!

Alfred

Victory loves preparation.

Posts: 165 | Location: Toronto, Ontario | Registered: Nov 02, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Welcome...

After stylistic preference of course, the key thing to assess in young wine is balance. Try to get a read on the tannin, acid, fruit and alcohol levels to ensure that they are all in balance with eachother.