WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Wine Conversations    Whats in a name?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Whats in a name?
 Login/Join 
posted
I work as a Wine consultant. At our store, so many people come in and ask for:
Champagne
Brandy/Cognac
Port
Chablis
etc

I spend some time explaining how each of those names came about and why. The easiest one is Champagne.. We all know it has to come from the Champagne area in France. But the same applies to the other names.

Is it something that we should always educate our customers with? Personally, I think it is important for local merchants to educate their customers with the differences. Why is a Cognac call a Cognac, and why isn't E&J XO Brandy called a Cognac.

It isn't that much about quality like it may have been 30 years ago... But I still think the naming distinctions always need to be in place.

Posts: 8 | Location: New Milford, CT | Registered: Nov 19, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I believe there is a time and a place for wine education, but that may not be the appropriate moment.

Remember the tag line.

A father is someone who has pictures where his money used to be.

Posts: 6769 | Location: Everett, WA | Registered: Mar 08, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mneeley490:
I believe there is a time and a place for wine education, but that may not be the appropriate moment.

I agree. Most people could care less about any naming distinctions between anything, especially wine. Most people aren't wine geeks like us. And, that's ok. If people want to know the difference between a Champer or a Sparkler, they'll ask. Or if they care, they can look it up for themselves. I would never want to jeapordize a sale by bombarding somebody with the "correct delineations" between something that at the end of the day, doesn't really mean much to them. Just my 2 Cents