Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Merry Edwards
 Login/Join 
posted
Curious if anyone has taken a peak at the Insider yet. Wow. Congrats to Merry Edwards. She has become one of my favorite California pinot producers, but I have limited experience with her Sauvignon Blanc. Appears I have been missing out.

Posts: 1791 | Location: NC | Registered: May 01, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yes 96 points Eek

I cannot remember the last time a 100% Sauvignon Blanc for NZ, Cali received a score this high ? Best I remember was a 94 for Cloudy Bay in the 90 somethings.

Has anyone tasted this ? Is it a Classic wine in their opinion. I just ask since there is no way on earth a bottle of this wine ( or any other Cali wine ) will make it to the LCBO at a price I would be willing to pay.

Gibby

Posts: 220 | Location: Toronto | Registered: Jan 19, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Bought some; haven't tried it yet, but James Laube (who is not the one who bestowed 96 points on this wine) also tasted it and reported on his blog that it's the best Sauvignon Blanc he's ever had from anywhere. In terms of a high recommendation, it doesn't get any better than that. Definitely sounds classic.

De gustibus non est disputandum.

Posts: 3948 | Location: Denver, CO | Registered: Jan 02, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm planning on placing my first Merry Edwards order soon. Aside from the '07 SB - which I already know I'm ordering - what are everyone else's favorites from here?

Posts: 1149 | Location: Chandler, Arizona | Registered: Jul 04, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
As I love me some Sauv Blancs, I bit the bullet and picked up three. Even if they don't live up to the 96 point billing and only come in at the community average of 91.3 on CT, it should still be a good deal.

Posts: 621 | Location: Seattle, WA | Registered: May 11, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote: