WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Wine Conversations    Is one bottle a day too much?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Is one bottle a day too much?
 Login/Join 
posted
What are the health hazards (if any) in drinking one full bottle (750 ml) of red wine every day?

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Poquelin,

Posts: 158 | Registered: Apr 08, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I consume a bottle daily and feel no ill effects.

Posts: 2645 | Location: Edmonton | Registered: Feb 06, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Bad. Doctors recommend 6 to 8 ounces per day.

I am in the middle getting down my cholesterol and BP. Anything above 8 ounces is not looked upon as beneficial.
I usually do about half a bottle, but have dropped it when I can to 1 bottle for three nights consumption.

BTW, I have been drinking since 1981 and also have recently been told I have an enlarged liver.

www.budbreak.blogspot.com
www.clonyc.com

Posts: 849 | Registered: Jan 04, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by mike p:
BTW, I have been drinking since 1981 and also have recently been told I have an enlarged liver.

It is just more seasoned. As a bodybuilder is more seasoned than TBird.

Posts: 1420 | Location: Jersey City | Registered: Feb 22, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Really, which "Doctor" is that? It's a hotly debated issue. A friend of mine at the NIH who did one of the later studies shows that cardiologists almost want to put alcohol on the food pyramid. The study shows benefits in the rage of 6-8 OZ of EtOH a day for men, that's a bottle and a half of fairly potent red!

Posts: 227 | Location: Herndon, VA | Registered: Sep 07, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
A full bottle a day seems like an awful lot.