WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Dining and Cooking    French Laundry Cookbook -- as a cookbook?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

French Laundry Cookbook -- as a cookbook?
 Login/Join 
posted
Family has asked me for a Christmas list, and for the past several years I've been primarily just putting cookbooks on it. Which brings me to my question. Of those who have the French Laundry cookbook, how many use it for cooking? I've heard it's a beautiful book, very inspiring, etc., but for the most part I want cookbooks from which I can use recipes. I'm an average to good cook, but very much a recipe follower rather than a creator. I know some (many?) of the recipes in FL cookbook are complicated and use equipment/ingredients that are always on hand or easy to find, so how often do those that own the book use it for the recipes?

Other books I'm considering putting on the list:

Colorado Cache and Creme de Colorado -- enjoyed cooking from them when lived in Denver but don't own
River Road Recipes I
Ad Hoc at Home
Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking (Hazan)
Sauces (James Peterson)

A final question, has anyone ordered a used book from other sellers on Amazon.com? OK with the experience? I'm assuming transaction takes place with Amazon and then they send money and information to the seller. Is that correct?

Thanks for the help.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: eyesintime,

“Appreciating old wine is like making love to a very old lady. It is possible. It can even be enjoyable. But it requires a bit of imagination.”

Andre Tchelistcheff

Posts: 2568 | Location: Ohio | Registered: Jan 23, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hazan is really good. Probably in my top 5 cookbooks.

I've ordered books from other sellers on Amazon and it worked fine. You have a correct understanding of how it works. Shipping takes longer usually, but not a lot longer. I've been happy when I've done it.