WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Learn Wine    Champagne storage
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Champagne storage
 Login/Join 
posted
OK, so I have recently bought a case of Billecart-Salmon Rosé. I plan on cracking a couple open for the New Year but the rest will be stored.

I have an insulated garage with a pretty steady temperature of 60. Humidity is fine and the bottles will be stored sideways with no natural light exposure.

How long can my wines last like this? Thanks in advance guys. I'm new to this game. :-)

Posts: 4 | Registered: Dec 06, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Should last a good amount of time.
A little colder would be better but what can we do.
Also You may want to leave the bottles upright, (i.e champagne corks) but depends who you ask.

Posts: 2 | Location: Boston | Registered: Feb 05, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the reply ethan. I actually finished the case this month and they held up fine over a 3 month period. I may start buying in bulk in future.

Posts: 4 | Registered: Dec 06, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
LOL

Just one more sip.

Posts: 36740 | Location: NY | Registered: Oct 18, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
i've held mine for over 3 years a few particular bottles have been sitting around for 8-9 years

This is my sig -> www.brownteacup.com
www.wsqwine.com
(Wine distributor)

Posts: 11609 | Location: NYC | Registered: Feb 16, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by sagan1:
Thanks for the reply ethan. I actually finished the case this month and they held up fine over a 3 month period. I may start buying in bulk in future.

Post of the year so far for me!

Big Grin Banana

Posts: 1570 | Location: London, ON | Registered: Nov 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post