WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Learn Wine    Corked wine
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Corked wine
 Login/Join 
posted
What is the deal with corked wine? What should I expect to see, smell or taste?

Posts: 199 | Location: Southern Cal | Registered: May 16, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Cool I'm a wine newbie here, but at a tasting a few years back, there was a bottle ending up corked, and the somm wanted all of us to 'experience' a corked wine. The wine smelled of cardboard, or newspaper, and tasted similar. A very distinct difference. One, once experienced, you would be able to recognize if you came upon it again.

Posts: 834 | Location: Southern California | Registered: Apr 11, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
D, practical tips. Thanks much.

By the way, "a few years back", disqualifies you as a "newbie."

quote:
Originally posted by Darlene:
Cool I'm a wine newbie here, but at a tasting a few years back, there was a bottle ending up corked, and the somm wanted all of us to 'experience' a corked wine. The wine smelled of cardboard, or newspaper, and tasted similar. A very distinct difference. One, once experienced, you would be able to recognize if you came upon it again.

Posts: 199 | Location: Southern Cal | Registered: May 16, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Cool Wink

Posts: 834 | Location: Southern California | Registered: Apr 11, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
It tastes like Rocinante's hoof.

Posts: 3197 | Location: ATL | Registered: Mar 20, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Sancho,

Thing is, folks have varying levels of tolerance for TCA, what often gives "corked" wines their funk. I'm not that succeptable, which I think is a good thing. I went to a tasting this past summer and a particular wine caused some to crinkle their noses at first sniff, and others to sip merrily and wonder what the fuss was all about.