WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Learn Wine    What's next after California Cab?
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What's next after California Cab?
 Login/Join 
posted
I've been drinking wine on a semi-regular basis for about 12-15 years. My first wow wine was a 99 point mid 80's Caymus Special Selection. I've been gravitating towards big California Cabs for about 3-4 years, like Shafer Hillside Select, Schrader, Realm & Carter To Kalon, etc.

I've found a couple of Syrah, Petite Sirah, Malbec, and Cab Francs that I like some times, but I still go back to the Cabs when I want something special. Some co-drinkers have been trying to get me to like Zin and Pinot, but it hasn't happened yet.

Am I more likely to stay with the California Cabs for the duration, or is my palate going to change, and am I going to wish my cellar wasn't so lopsided?

Sitting around with nothing to do is great until you have to do it. - Dave's daughter

Posts: 452 | Location: Denver, CO | Registered: Aug 17, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by davec:
Am I more likely to stay with the California Cabs for the duration, or is my palate going to change, and am I going to wish my cellar wasn't so lopsided?

The latter

Just one more sip.

Posts: 36981 | Location: NY | Registered: Oct 18, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
davec. the best is yet to come for you, trust me.

The wines you have been enjoying will soon become boring if not simply disappointing.

Posts: 30256 | Location: Dallas, TX & Santa Fe, NM | Registered: Feb 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
everyone's different, but i agree with w+a. i tend to find all but the very best cali cabs pretty boring and monotonous.