WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Learn Wine    Finding similar wines
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Finding similar wines
 Login/Join 
posted
I'm very new to buying wine for myself, I usually just drink whatever someone else recommends. Now that I know a couple of wines that I like, is there an easy way to find similar wines? Is there somewhere online where I could say that I like a specific wine, and get suggestions for similar wines? Or do I just need to go to the store and ask someone who works there?
Thanks,

Posts: 3 | Registered: Jan 19, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Welcome. What wines do you like?

Just one more sip.

Posts: 36740 | Location: NY | Registered: Oct 18, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
And please try to describe why you like them. In other words, do you like red or white wine? Why? Do you like sweet wine or a drier wine? Wine with lots of fruit flavors, or wines with more subtle flavors?

Etc...

Posts: 6416 | Location: Palm Beach | Registered: Nov 08, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Well, up until now I've favored very sweet wines, specifically rieslings. Recently I've enjoyed a couple of cabernets, specifically Atlas Peak and Sterling Vineyard. I think what I like most about them is that they are very smooth, if that is the right way to describe it. Hope that helps, and thanks for your responses!

posted Hide Post
For smooth, fruity reds, maybe try a red Zinfandel, maybe a Ravenswood or Ridge.

Just one more sip.

Posts: 36740 | Location: NY | Registered: Oct 18, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post