WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Learn Wine    Temperature vs. Aeration
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Temperature vs. Aeration
 Login/Join 
posted
Hello All,

This is my first post to this forum, so first let me just say "Hi!".

I have been drinking wine for many years, but I have just recently decided to embark on what I hope will be a lifelong journey to purposefully (and happily!) learn more about wine. I've been reading as much as I can to learn about wines, grapes, and regions, and I've also been starting to taste more wines with focus and awareness - trying to learn to recognize and identify the flavors and textures, etc that I like, so that I can talk about them and describe them to others, and also better remember them myself. It's certainly not easy to do, but luckily, it's very enjoyable!

The first question that is stumping me is regarding tasting temperature and aeration. I have read in a few places, and I think it makes good sense, that a red wine should be served between 60 - 65 degrees F. This was at some point equated with 'room temperature', and so the general rule of thumb is that red wine should be served at room temperature. However, room temperature in my house is usually somewhere between 69 - 75 degrees F, depending on the season.

I've also read that it is a good practice to aerate a wine, especially a complex red, before drinking, which usually takes at least 30 minutes, and up to a few hours. Of course, by the time a wine has been sitting in the decanter for even 30 minutes, it's at room temperature, which again, in my house is ~70 degrees, and I've also read that even 2 or 3 degrees can make a very large difference in how structure and flavor is perceived when you taste. So...