WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Tasting Notes    TN's: 2010 Wyncroft Winery Visit (Michigan) (13 wines)
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

TN's: 2010 Wyncroft Winery Visit (Michigan) (13 wines)
 Login/Join 
posted
Last weekend I visted this winery to pick up some wine with a friend and Jim Lester arranged some cheese, bread and wine tasting. We talked, ate and drank for almost 4 hours. He poured recent releases, a few older wines and a handful of barrel samples. I have been drinking and buying Jim's wines for over 6 years now. He is in a class by himself among Michigan winemakers in my opinion. Although there are perhaps a dozen wineries in Michigan that make outstanding white wines, nobody can match what Jim does with Reds.

Jim Lester is committed to making fine wine in the Lake Michigan Shore Appellation of Southwest Michigan. He overseas everything from vineyard management to the bottling. He has identified excellent vineyard sites (primarily calcerous soil with a high mineral and stone content) to make his single vineyard bottlings and was glad to see he is expanding. He holds yields down (to as small as 1 ton/acre) and uses Allier and Betrand oak barrels from France. If he is not satisfied with the quality of the grapes he declassifies the wine and sells it off in bulk like he did with his 2003 Riesling and 2007 Cabernet Sauvignon. He grows 100% vitis vinifera. His total production is slighlty over 1000 cases per year. Everything that touches the wines is first class.