WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Tasting Notes    2008 Domaine du Pegau Chateauneuf du Pape Cuvee Reserve
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

2008 Domaine du Pegau Chateauneuf du Pape Cuvee Reserve
 Login/Join 
posted
I have two that I picked up really cheap at a Binny's close-out, and desided to try one tonight, Popped and poured, and now drinking from a bottle that has been open about 3 hours. Nice medium ruby color. The nose at first had quite a bit of funk, stewed fruit and a little sulphur. It opened up to aromas of black licorice, dark barries and anise. Crushed berries, plum skins and a tiny bit of smoked meat are what I taste, along with minerality and a little gaminess which to me is not off-putting. Also cedar/spice box and some peppery notes at the back end. I enjoyed this earlier with a spicy, garlicky dinner and am also liking it on its own. I'm still a relative newbie with good CdP. However, I think this is a very nice, complex wine from what was supposed to be a poor vintage. My girlfriend hates it, so more for me! I'll have some left for lunch tomorrow. Big Grin

Posts: 5555 | Location: Aurora, IL | Registered: Jul 29, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Bill-I agree that the 2008 Pegau is a fantastic CdP, even considering the vintage. It just so happens that I bought the remaining five at my local shop today after tasting one at a group event last week. You won't be sorry.

Posts: 527 | Location: Michigan | Registered: Aug 18, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by billhike: