WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Tasting Notes    2003 Domaine du Pegau, Chateauneuf du Pape, Cuvee Reservee
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

2003 Domaine du Pegau, Chateauneuf du Pape, Cuvee Reservee
 Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Agree, this is a fantastic wine.

"I have drunk not to the clouding of my reason, but just so much that I can still surely distinguish the syllables with my tongue." Athenaeus

"Mimik" on cellartracker.com

Posts: 6502 | Location: Montreal | Registered: Feb 21, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Dear All,

I am a newbie at this forum but have enjoyed reading CDP Pegau posts in the wine conversations. I would like to ask whether the bottle label for the Domaine du Pegau 2003 cuvee reservee is suppose to be printed with a 15.5% alcohol content (which I understand is the case for the '03) or a lower number of 14.5%. In a couple of forums (eg cellar tracker) I have read people posting that their bottle of the '03 Pegau had labels reading 14.5% to 13.5% alc by vol.

Thanks and rgds

engsh

Posts: 3 | Registered: Apr 16, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Welcome to the forums Engsh. My bottles have the 14% on the front label blacked out and a small white label with 15.2% was stuck on the back of the bottle. Not sure if the winery or our government run liquor monopoly did that. Could be the latter because they do test wines they receive before they release to stores. I certainly wouldn't be surprised that 2003 produced a higher octane version of the Pegau, but I didn't get any heat from it and the wine is soooooo good. Cool

Posts: 9672 | Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada | Registered: Dec 25, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Hey thanks steve8, that help clear things a bit for me. Presumably Pegau is using standard labels for the '03.

Posts: 3 | Registered: Apr 16, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post