WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Tasting Notes    TN: 2003 Ch. Guiraud, 1er Cru Sauternes
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

TN: 2003 Ch. Guiraud, 1er Cru Sauternes
 Login/Join 
posted
I'm no expert in sweet wine but this is very delicious.

Golden color. I can already see its thick texture just be swirling the glass around. Delicious smell of dried apricot, honey, and botrytis. Very ripe, ultra sweet and thick yet very unctuous and caressing on tongue. Almost like a syrup and super long finish. Will keep well for another decade. 93+ points.

DP Wink

Posts: 547 | Location: OH | Registered: Jan 16, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
2003 Château Guiraud - France, Bordeaux, Sauternais, Sauternes (3/28/2007)

Allred brought this to Zepplans house for dinner last weekend and this was paired with a white-chocolate raspberry tart. This was an outstanding dessert wine but like most of the 2003 Suaternes I have had I found it to be rather sweet at this young age. This sweetness is the reason I have preferred the 2001 Sauternes vintage over the 2003's. This sweetness will intgrate with time but overall the 2003 Sauternes are much less pleasurable in their youth than the 2001's in my opinion. This was a full bodied, power packed wine. Notes of pineapple, candied white fruit, some spice and telltale botrytis. I found it slightly syrupy at the present time. I liked the 1997 Guiraud which I had in 2005 slightly better than this wine. Wonderful potential here but I would give this quite a bit of time before uncorking any unless you like your Sauternes young and sweet. 91+ points.

VM

Posts: 12285 | Location: Chicago | Registered: Oct 17, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
My first half bottle of 2003 sauternes, several of which I got as futures.

Full, medium-full body and sweetness. Straw colour. Honey and pineapple on the nose. Fresh hive honey, pineapple, banana, fig, orange rind marmelade.