WineSpectator.com    Wine Spectator Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Tasting Notes    2003 Bordeaux: A 10 Year Retrospective
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

2003 Bordeaux: A 10 Year Retrospective
 Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by marcb7:
Like I said...Im just a amateur Smile

i still dont get what you mean by more bordeaux like though?

I would say that after 20 years of age on a cab, they go back to having that tobacco green pepper taste to them. Anyone would be hard pressed to tell a bdx or cali cab on a 20-30 yr old cab.

This is my sig -> www.brownteacup.com
www.wsqwine.com
(Wine distributor)

Posts: 11647 | Location: NYC | Registered: Feb 16, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Exactly...Bordeaux like, meaning the tobacco, lead pencil, mint....

Aged Cali Cabs are not in question here for me....New world Cali cabs, or "parkerized" wines of out Napa or Bordeaux are what I am referring to. The stewed flavors of the 03' Vintage in general (not all, as there are some 03's that still represent Bordeaux to me), is what I feel taste quite similar to some of those new world wines coming out of California.

With that said, my experience with recent vintages of Cali Cabs is anemic at best...not my cup of tea!

I have no issue with anyone liking 03' Bordeaux....like I originally posted, it "hits the spot" if I crave this style wine. They are well made wines, no doubt. Just not what I would consider Bordeaux...just my 2 Cents

-------------

Say NO to Shiraz!

Posts: 2723 | Registered: Nov 07, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Exactly...Bordeaux like, meaning the tobacco, lead pencil, mint....